Welcome to El Paso County Medical Society

The El Paso County Medical Society (EPCMS) was established in 1898, with a membership of approximately 800 physicians, residents, and medical students. It is the professional organization for physicians in El Paso County. The Executive Board is the governing body of the EPCMS.


The activities of the El Paso County Medical Society (EPCMS) must be in compliance with our mission statement and six goals, which were established by our members and are reviewed annually.

"The purpose of this Society shall be to unite and bring into one organization those physicians of the El Paso County as provided in the Constitution and Bylaws: to unite with similar societies in Texas to form the Texas Medical Association, to extend medical science; to elevate the standard of medical practice; to enlighten and direct public opinion so that this society and its members may become more useful to the public in the prevention and cure of disease; to secure the enactment and enforcement of legislation that will provide the best practice of medicine; to foster good relations among its members. The Society shall have the right and authority to promote proper relations among its members and to these ends enact bylaws regulating such matters."



Jeffrey Michael Spier, MD
2022 President
El Paso County Medical Society 


how the new tax law will affect your practice

The Advisory Board Company
CDC releases opioid prescribing guidelines intended to curb use. AMA says it is 'largely supportive of the guidelines.'

KCOS TV Show link
DocBook New Image